Congratulations to the winners of the Carriage Driving Awards 2021!

Rescue Horse/Pony of the Year

Winner: Davey

Davey was found in a ditch tied to a dead foal. He was rehomed and brought on slowly by Geraldine Pearson and once matured he was introduced to driving. He has now grown in confidence - and qualified for the Certius finals in Wales this year. He is a superstar pony with a bright future.

Hope & Star
World Horse Welfare Usain (Uey)

Highly commended: World Horse Welfare Obelisk (Dougall)

Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Emily Ham

Emily gives at least 10 hours each to week volunteering across the driving disciplines, at shows, events and online. She has done so for more than 15 years. She produces and sends out online newsletters designed specifically to appeal to young drivers under 18 years old. This has helped to support both their physical and mental health whilst fuelling enthusiasm for driving throughout the pandemic.

Anne Wrigley
Chris Marbrow

Groom/Backstepper of the Year

Winner: Michelle Maynard & Kirsty Cox

Michelle and Kirsty were for many years, the late Duke of Edinburgh's grooms. The Duke was always complimentary about Michelle and Kirsty, and it was clear to see that the three of them had an easy relationship. He was delighted that his granddaughter Lady Louise Mountbatten Windsor took a keen interest in driving, and was pleased to see the support from these two grooms who played a major part in fostering, and encouraging her interest as she now carries the torch for the Fell team.
On the day of The Duke of Edinburgh's funeral at Windsor Castle the nation and the world were moved by the sight of a pair of Fells, put to one of his dressage vehicles, attended by Michelle and Kirsty paying their respects as his coffin passed.
It is for their devotion to The Duke of Edinburgh during many years spent as his grooms that this joint recommendation was submitted.

Ann Reid
Martin Wilkinson

British Rare Breed Horse/Pony of the Year

Winner: Ned & Westside My Friend Billy & Ashes Captain

Ned is the perfect example of the placid nature of the Shire horse. He has competed in a range of classes and events including lead rein (ridden by a 4year old), ploughing, trade and agricultural turnout. He has worked at weddings and funerals demonstrating his ability to turn his hoof to anything.

Westside My Friend Billy & Ashes Captain
This Shire pair won a silver medal in the Swedish Championship in advanced combined class, competing against KWPNs and Swedish Warmbloods. Owner Karin Emilsson says: “We were told that you can't compete with a Shire, and that we would never get higher than novice class... but we have proved them wrong.”

Brickell Black Supreme

Highly commended: Stennerskeugh Smoke

Best Traditional Turnout of the Year

Winner: Christopher Drewitt & 1864 Holmes Derby Skeleton Brake & Gilly Chippendale & Stennerskeugh Smoke

Christopher Drewitt & 1864 Holmes Derby Skeleton Brake

The Royal Mews No 2 Skeleton Brake was built in 1864 by Holmes Derby of London, it was used for training and breaking horses.  It was sold in 1936, then returned to the Royal collection in the 1960s. Through the years it suffered wear and tear, then over a period of six months in 2020, Christopher fully restored the carriage. It is now in full working order, painted in its Royal livery and was seen in public at the BDS Show at Smith's Lawn in June 2021 with a team of Windsor Greys. It was much admired, as was Christopher's craftsmanship in its restoration.

Gilly Chippendale & Stennerskeugh Smoke

Gilly and Smoke have campaigned the Country Turnout classes with their 1906 varnished rally car, made by Morris brothers from Tavistock, and restored around 18 years ago. Smoke’s brown harness is made for him by Geoff and Jessie Dudley and compliments the matching tweed outfits – painting an overall picture of elegance from a bygone era.

Joey Peters and Rachel Moore
Leah Marshall

Best Non-Traditional Turnout of the Year

Winner: Sue Cole & Sam The Man

Over the year, Sue and Sam competed at various British Driving Society events and drives. They also competed at BDS Bury Farm and Smith’s Lawn.

George Knight and Rowhill Silver Joker 
Rachael Marshall and Whitehaven Vanquish

Grassroots Driver of the Year

Winner: Sophie Moore

Over three years Sophie's progress has been outstanding.  She qualified for the Indoor Driving Championships and was Scottish Junior Whip champion in her first season, she tried driving trials in 2019, her first BDS show in 2020, and took part in CIAT at Glamis Castle in 2021.

George Knight 
Leah Redsell

Business of the Year

Winner: Bennington Carriages

This successful, family run business has been trading for well over 50 years. Their commitment is to nurture and grow the sport or carriage driving, whilst continuing to manufacture exceptional products and deliver world class customer service.

Operation Centaur
Revolution Carriages Ltd

Driving for the Disabled Group of the Year

Winner: Park Lane Stables RDA Group

There are around 350 disabled people and nearly 200 volunteers who are part of the Park Lane Stables family. Throughout a difficult year when faced with losing their home, thanks to Natalie O’Rourke, the driving force behind this group, they managed to attract the attention and support of the national media and celebrities - as a result they raised more than £1m to secure their future, allowing them to purchase the stables and continue to bring happiness and wellbeing to their local community.

Garioch Carriage Driving for the Disabled 
Stella Hancock Driving Group

Young Sports Personality of the Year

Winner: Leah Marshall

Leah is arguably the most campaigned junior show driver of her generation and has done much to showcase her ponies, vehicles, and abilities with the respective societies that she competes under.

Harriet McEntee
Kris Rohrrsen

Highly commended: William Turner

Event Organiser of the Year

Winner: Jane Isaac

Jane is a diligent, enthusiastic, and self-effacing lady who works tirelessly throughout the year to make the Hopetoun Horse Driving Trials the success it has become.

Julie Elliott
Wilf Bowman-Ripley & Zoe Morgan

NEW Best International Carriage Driving Club/Association of the Year

Winner: The Carriage Association of America, Inc.

The CAA includes members from 24 countries as well as across the USA.
It is the oldest, and largest inclusive carriage driving organisation of its kind in the world.

Association Internationale d'Attelage de Tradition
Southern Highlands Carriage Club, Australia

Outstanding Achievement Award

Winner: Barrie Luck

For the past 60 years Barrie has selflessly given of his time to the sport of Carriage Driving, whether it be to help a young driver or to escort Her Majesty the Queen at Smiths Lawn - but in the main to make it possible for others to enjoy their driving. Barrie is a staunch traditionalist.  His knowledge of carriages, their accessories and correct turnout is vast.   He was at the beginning of most of the disciplines that we know today. His quiet and unassuming manner, his depth of knowledge, his skills as a coachman, and his steadfastness has been of the greatest benefit to the carriage driving world.